
Animals 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

How do I make a complaint?  

If it’s a rare noise occurrence that is 

happening after 10pm you can call the 

Police Non-Emergency number at 

503.629.0111. To make a complaint about 

ongoing barking, licensing, neglect or other 

animal concerns contact Washington 

County Animal Services. 

 

Can I make a complaint anonymously? 

A complainant is needed unless the 

violation is observed by the responding 

agency. The complainant is the witness to 

the activity and may be needed for court 

proceedings, questions, follow up or 

reports. 

 

Who picks up a found or loose dog? 

Contact your county animal services. 

 

 

 

Washington County Animal Services 

www.co.washington.or.us 

503.846.7041 

 
Clackamas County Animal Services 

www.clackamas.us 
503.722.6519 

 
Pet Harbor 

www.PetHarbor.com 
 

Dispute Resolution Center 
www.beavertonoregon.gov 

503.526.2523 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

The Tualatin Dog Park is 

located on the north side of 

the railroad trestle at Tualatin 

Community Park. For a list of 

other off-leash parks visit your 

county webpage. 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did You Know… 
If you need assistance 

communicating with a 

neighbor the Beaverton 

Dispute Resolution Center 

serves Tigard, Tualatin, and 

Sherwood. 
 

 

 

   

RESOURCES 

 

Please be courteous to other 

property owners and 

neighborhood residents. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Non-Emergency/Dispatch 

503.629.0111 
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Animal Waste 

Any solid waste left by an animal on 
another’s property must immediately be 
removed (TMC 6-4.045). Animal waste 
on private property must remain at a 
minimum and not become a nuisance or 
health hazard (TMC 6-4.050(6)). 
Properly dispose of animals waste in a 
trash receptacle and do not pile it or 
wash it into nearby storm drains. 

 

Leash 

All animals must be restrained at all 
times when off of private property. 
Leashes are required for all city parks 
and schools. Animals must be kept on 
private property and kept from running 
loose or entering into neighboring yards. 
This includes dogs, cats, rabbits and 
other household pets. WCC 6.04.050 
 

Licensing   

All dogs must be licensed with their 
county at 6 months of age, or when they 
have permanent canine teeth, or within 
30 days of acquisition or within 30 days 
of moving. A license is required even if 
the dog is always on the owner's 
property, always indoors or lives on a 
farm. 

FAQ 
 

What are the fines for violations?  

Fines can be up to $500 per occurrence. 

 

What if it’s my roommate’s dog 

that’s barking? Along with the animal 

owner, if you are home with the animal at 

the time, have let the dog out off-leash or 

allow its barking you can be issued the 

citation since it’s in your control at the 

time.  

 

Will I get in trouble for putting my 
neighbor’s dog waste back on their 
property? Purposely putting animal 
waste on a neighboring property can 
result in Criminal Mischief 3 charges. Talk 
with the neighbor, change the 
landscaping, fence off the area or utilize 
the Dispute Resolution Center. 
 

How do I keep animals off my 
property? 
There are creative landscaping changes 
that can deter animals from entering your 
yard.  Sometimes a small hedge, retaining 
wall, fence or barbed plants can deter 
animals from entering the yard. This also 
gives animal owners the subliminal 
reminder that it is private property and 
not to allow their animal in the area. 
 

Are chickens allowed? 

Yes. Permits and restrictions apply.  
Visit www.TualatinOregon.gov  
for more information. 

Noise 

It is a violation for a dog (or  
other animal) to disturb the  
peace, comfort, or health of any  
person of reasonable sensitivity by 
making loud, long, unnecessary and 
continuous noises. Continuous or loud 
noise for more than 15 minutes is 
considered excessive. TMC 6-14-040(2) or  
WCC 6.04.080(I). 
 

Lost and Found 

If you have lost or found a pet please call 
the non-emergency number 503.629.0111 
to notify police. Any vet should be able to 
check for a chip in a found pet. Contact 
your county animal services and local 
shelters (see resources). Check for lost 
pets or post found pets at PetHarbor.com.  
Hand deliver flyers to neighboring 
residents or post on the community 
mailbox. Do not post signs on traffic 
signs, light poles, utility poles or at 
intersections. 
 

Stray Cats 

Stray or feral cats can be taken to your 
local shelter. There may be a fee for each 
one brought in. If you live in a multiple 
family housing area the cat may need to 
be brought in by the property manager or 
HOA. Traps can be purchased at your 
local hardware stores. 
 

 

Be careful using a trap. It may 

not catch the intended target. 
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http://www.tualatinoregon.gov/

